in

Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta refuses to rule out January transfer for Real Madrid ace Isco

Mikel Arteta – the Arsenal manager – has refused to rule out the prospect of Arsenal sealing a January transfer window move for Real Madrid and Spain midfielder Isco.

The central attacking-midfielder has emerged as a potential target for the Gunners ahead of the January transfer window opening for business later this week.

Throughout the summer, Arteta, who watched his Arsenal side record a second successive Premier League win with a 1-0 triumph over Brighton & Hove Albion on Tuesday night, was desperate to add a new central attacking-midfielder to his squad, with Lyon ace Houssem Aouar heavily linked with a switch to the Emirates Stadium.

However, despite the Gunners’ best efforts, they were unable to get a deal over the line, meaning they opted to conclude a move for Thomas Partey.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Click to play
Tap to play

The video will auto-play soon8Cancel

Play now

But the Gunners, who have now won their last two league outings, have struggled for goals this season, netting just 16 in their 16 Premier League outings, highlighting their need to add more quality to the squad, certainly in an attacking sense.

And according to reports in the national media, the Gunners are keen on landing Spain international Isco on loan from Real Madrid for the remainder of the season, though they face competition from Sevilla for his signature.

However, with Sevilla a direct La Liga rival of Madrid’s, the Spanish giants may prefer to send Isco out on loan to Arsenal, opposed to directly bolstering a La Liga rival.

Following the Gunners’ win over Brighton last night, Arteta was quizzed on the links regarding Isco and a move to the Emirates Stadium. Although the Gunners chief would not be drawn on specific names, he did not deny Arsenal holding an interest in the former Valencia man.

By signing up for our Arsenal newsletter, you will receive a once-daily email, focused around goings-on at Emirates Stadium.

You won’t…