Who is the Premier League manager of the season? Football writers debate the top gaffer

The Premier League manager of the season is always a subject up for plenty of debate.

Should it immediately be given to the champions, especially when ending 30 years of Liverpool hurt like Jurgen Klopp has?

Or do you look further down the table and see which boss has exceeded expectations, just like Burnley’s Sean Dyche and Sheffield United manager Chris Wilder has done?

Who should be Premier League manager of the season was a question posed to Daily Star Sport’s writers, and it’s fair to say that there was plenty of opinions floating about as the campaign draws to a close…

Read More
Related Articles
Read More
Related Articles
Jeremy Cross – Chris Wilder (Sheffield United)

Jurgen Klopp has romped to the Premier League title and Pep Guardiola remains on course for a successive treble haul of trophies, but even these achievements don’t compare to what Chris Wilder has done at Sheffield United.

When he led the Blades into the top flight last summer, they were immediately installed as one of the favourites to go straight back down again.

Instead, Wilder has led the Yorkshire outfit to the brink of a European place and taken some huge scalps with him along the way.

Wilder should be named manager of the year because he has got the maximum out of the talent at his disposal on a consistent basis.

He doesn’t have star names and he doesn’t have a big budget, so he has excelled when it comes to both motivation and the transfer market.

It has to be one of the great stories of recent times.

Read More
Related Articles
Ian Murtagh – Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Jurgen Klopp has guided Liverpool to their maiden Premier League trophy

Back in 1974 when the late, great Jack Charlton led Middlesbrough to promotion from the old Second Division in his first season as a manager, he was the overwhelming – and deserved – winner of the award.

There have been countless other examples of managers other than the one in charge he top flight champions winning the vote and…